Frederick W. Hill Mall Designation
Bylaw related to Frederick W. Hill Mall
As the city and downtown grew, the 1800 block of Scarth Street became a busy location. It was converted into a pedestrian mall in 1975. Building owners, in partnership with the City, have worked hard to maintain the heritage properties on either side of the mall keeping the area’s historic atmosphere intact. It was officially renamed the F.W. Hill Mall in 1998 in honour of the lifelong contributions of businessman Frederick W. Hill.
The Mall includes seating areas, sculptures by internationally renowned artists Leo Mol and Joe Fafard, a plaque recognizing the historic On-to-Ottawa trek, many unique shops, restaurants and pubs, the Plains Museum and the Globe Theatre.
Frederick W. Hill Mall Bylaw No. 10068 was established to designate the pedestrian mall within the 1800 block Scarth Street as the Frederick W. Hill Mall.
- The pedestrian mall is hereby designated and shall henceforth be known as “The Frederick W. Hill Mall”.
- The following bylaws also apply to the Frederick W. Hill Mall:
This page is an overview of these regulations. Refer to the bylaw for detailed information. The Office of the City Clerk keeps the latest version of each bylaw on file and will provide a copy upon request.